Simple Sundays: 5 Focuses

1. God.

  • Prayer.
  • Reading God’s Word. (I am currently reading a chapter of Proverbs that correlates with the day of the month, and a Psalm correlating with how many days since Mahalia was born.)
  • Hearing His voice.
  • Obeying His Word and instruction.
  • Following and allowing His Spirit to lead me, even if it isn’t convenient. Because let’s be honest, it often isn’t. 
  • Taking time to encourage other believers in their faith.

2. Husband.

Guys, I hate to admit this, but I have not been making my husband a priority. It breaks my heart to say that, but I know it is true. He has come last. I feel so busy with kids, nursing, trying to eat enough and drink enough water, care for my mental health, laundry, etc… that I end up expecting from him instead of building him up. I plan to change that. He not only deserves it, the Lord has impressed that upon my heart.

  • Making time for his primary love language.
  • Complimenting him daily.
  • Helping him achieve his goals.
  • Knowing and listening to him.
  • Say yes to him more often.
  • Intentionally spending more time with him.

3. Kids.

I want to be intentional about how I spend my time with my kids, how I influence them and making sure they feel heard and loved. They also need to be directed and guided.

Marzden:
  • Coloring/drawing with him.
  • Reading him books.
  • Working on school work.
  • Asking specific questions about his day and then listen with my complete attention.
  • Play a game.
  • Say yes more often when he asks to do something.
  • Ask him what he wants to do and do it.
  • Encourage and compliment his abilities.
  • Talk to him about God.
Ammons:
  • Listening to him with my complete attention.
  • Imagine and talk with him.
  • Play a game with him.
  • Do “heavy work” with him.
  • Include him in things.
  • Encourage and compliment his abilities.
  • Talk to him about God.
  • Dual Language on Fridays.
Mahalia:
  • Skin to skin time.
  • Extended eye contact and talk to her.
  • Play.
  • Tummy time.
  • Mindful nursing.
  • Read her books.
  • Sing songs.
  • Bath time!

4. Hobbies.

  • Make cards.
  • Take pictures and share encouragement on social media.
  • Blog.
  • Write letters.
  • Arts & Crafts.
  • Garden.
  • Marco Polo with family and friends.

5. Health.

  • Take a walk.
  • Relaxing exercises.
  • Yoga.
  • Oils.
  • Hydrate.
  • Eat a healthy snack.
  • Prep meals.
  • House hold cleaning.

 

One thought on “Simple Sundays: 5 Focuses”

Leave a comment